PDA

View Full Version : Just wondering


ludo33
03-07-2009, 11:43 AM
Hello,

If you go to http://ludo.dnsalias.org/ and select North Scotland from the udm4 expanding menu :) then select Aberdeen you will arrive here http://aberdeen.ludo.dnsalias.org and yet another udm4 menu :):) I want it right aligned, but editing the style-blue.ini has no effect:

//navbar orientation
$um['orientation'] = array(
'horizontal', // alignment ["vertical"|"horizontal"|"popup"|"expanding"]
'right', // h align ["left"|"right"|"rtl"]
'top', // v align ["top"|"bottom"]
'relative', // positioning ["relative"|"absolute"|"fixed"|"allfixed"]

Left works and so does rtl, why don't right?

TYIA

vinyl-junkie
03-07-2009, 03:21 PM
The first problem I see with that page is that it does not validate (http://validator.w3.org/check?uri=http%3A%2F%2Faberdeen.ludo.dnsalias.org% 2F&charset=(detect+automatically)&doctype=Inline&group=0). For one thing, you have two opening and closing sets of <html></html> tags. There should only be one set of these tags. Fix these problems first, then see how your menu behaves.

ludo33
03-07-2009, 07:09 PM
Thanks for pointing the validation error out, now fixed!
However the menu remains left aligned:( Any ideas?

Ah, wait a minute :eek: It's all gone haywire!

I have 2 udm4 menus on the site and somehow they are interfering with each other. In my webroot I have template.php using the folder udm4-resources for the expanding menu on http://ludo.dnsalias.org and also mainmenu.php using the folder udmsub for the horizontal menu on http://aberdeen.ludo.dnsalias.org

However both menus have the class=udm can this be changed?

Also in my Drupal page.tpl (where I put the udm links to get rid of the validation errors) I have:

<head>
<link rel="stylesheet" type="text/css" href="/udmsub/udm-style.php" media="screen, projection" />
<link rel="stylesheet" type="text/css" href="/udm-resources/udm-style.php" media="screen, projection" />
<link rel="stylesheet" type="text/css" href="menu.css" media="screen, projection" />

</head>
<body<?php print phptemplate_body_class($left, $right); ?>>

<!-- PHP generated menu script [must come *before* any other modules or extensions] -->
<script type="text/javascript" src="/udmsub/udm-dom.php"></script>
<!-- keyboard navigation module -->
<script type="text/javascript" src="/udmsub/udm-mod-keyboard.js"></script>

<!-- PHP generated menu script [must come *before* any other modules or extensions] -->
<script type="text/javascript" src="/udm-resources/udm-dom.php"></script>

<!-- keyboard navigation module -->
<script type="text/javascript" src="/udm-resources/udm-mod-keyboard.js"></script>


Please bear with me on this one, cos I know that a lot of Drupal users are looking for a solution, like the one I had at http://aberdeen.ludo.dnsalias.org i.e. working dynamically with the OG module, try the Group Calendar link at http://aberdeen.ludo.dnsalias.org and then at http://dundee.ludo.dnsalias.org
Once perfected I'm sure the solution will attract more customers for UDM4.

Thank you for your help.

ludo33
03-08-2009, 08:17 PM
Ok Simplified everything, only one menu on the site now. All other files removed, just mainmenu.php and the folder udmsub.

//navbar orientation
'right', // h align ["left"|"right"|"rtl"]

Menu still displays on left?

ludo33
03-09-2009, 11:02 AM
Now it works, Here's how I did it:

In my Drupal page.tpl I added a new region and put the menu in there, selecting right or left within the UDM configuration made no difference to layout. Applied CSS to the new region

.region {
float: right;
}
Bingo it works! and validates!

Then, having 2 different UDM4 menus on my site I had to make a new page.tpl.php file (page-front.tpl.php) and put the links and scripts for the front page (UDM4 menu1) in there and UDM4 menu 2 is controlled from the page.tpl.php.

Works great! Thanks guys..