Ultimate Web Site Drop Down Menu Forum

Ultimate Web Site Drop Down Menu Forum (http://www.udm4.com/forum/index.php)
-   Troubleshooting (http://www.udm4.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=12)
-   -   Menu always opened, mouseover not working, no error message (http://www.udm4.com/forum/showthread.php?t=1413)

rbachl 06-02-2008 10:47 PM

Menu always opened, mouseover not working, no error message
 
I cannot get the udm4 menus working and would need some help.
The menu is permanently displayed, mouseover is not working, but there is no error message.
When looking at the source code generated by the web server, everything seems to be ok. In particular, the following lines are included:

(----snippet 1-----)
<link rel="stylesheet" type="text/css" media="screen,projection" href="udm/udm-style.php" />

(----snippet 2-----)
<ul id="udm" class="udm" ><li><a href="./index.php?ee_lang=eng&amp;u=">Browse&nbsp;Gallerie s&nbsp;</a><ul><li><a href="list.php?exhibition=1&amp;u=&amp;ee_lang=eng " title="1 photo">First exhibition</a></li><li><a href="./" title="--------------------------------">--------------------------------</a></li><li><a href="./guestbook.php?u=&amp;ee_lang=eng" title="Guestbook">Guestbook</a></li><li><a href="./news.php?u=&amp;ee_lang=eng" title="News">News</a></li><li><a href="./list.php?exhibition=all&amp;select_output=ratings& amp;u=&amp;ee_lang=eng" title="Browse Ratings">Browse Ratings</a></li><li><a href="./sitemap.php?u=&amp;ee_lang=eng" title="Gallery Map">Gallery Map</a></li><li><a href="./gear.php?u=&amp;ee_lang=eng" title="Gear List">Gear List</a></li><li><a href="./comments.php?u=&amp;ee_lang=eng" title="Photo Comment Browser">Photo Comment Browser</a></li></ul></li></ul>

(----snippet 3-----)
<script type="text/javascript" src="udm/udm-dom.php"></script>

udm-dom.php, udm-style.php and udm-custom.ini are all readable in subdirectory udm. The paths to udm-custom.ini are set correctly in the files udm-dom.php and udm-styles.php.

The php and apache versions are a bit dated, but I have not encountered any other problems with this before. I was following the description for integrating udm in Exhibit Engine as described in http://photography-on-the.net/forum/...d.php?t=223312
which includes all other details of the menu configuration.

Do you have any suggestion what I could modify or check? Thank you.

vinyl-junkie 06-03-2008 02:19 PM

It might be helpful if you posted a link to your site. Perhaps we might see something that needs to be fixed. Also, you might also want to temporarily remove any non-UDM javascripts from your page to see if that fixes anything for you. It's possible that other javascripts are conflicting with UDM.

06-04-2008 03:08 AM

Can you post a link to the site? I did a quick check by replacing your <ul> / <li> list with a default configuration and everything worked fine.

rbachl 06-07-2008 12:09 PM

Sample page
 
Thank you for the replies, and sorry for keeping you waiting with the access to the website. I was only able to reconfigure the webserver at the weekend, I hope that public access is working now:

http://wanderlust.webhop.org/EE2

You will find the menu in the upper left corner.

I have no Java scripts installed. Everything works with PHP.

vinyl-junkie 06-07-2008 03:09 PM

In your file udm-style.php, the very first statement sets the value of $config. What does that statement look like? I believe that may be the problem.

rbachl 06-07-2008 04:03 PM

I have read that somebody had problems with statements of the form:

$config = $_SERVER['DOCUMENT_ROOT'] . '/path_from_doc_root_to_udm_custom_ini/udm-custom.ini';

Therefore I am using the absolute path as follows:

$config = '/absolute_path_to_udm-custom_ini/udm-custom.ini';

I was also trying the relative path as suggested by the
"Exhibition Engine" gallery forum, cf.
http://photography-on-the.net/forum/...d.php?t=223312

$config = 'udm-custom.ini';


None of the above settings seem to work. I am a bit lost here.

vinyl-junkie 06-07-2008 07:36 PM

Try this:
Code:

$config = 'EE2/udm/udm-custom.ini';
What you have may already be the equivalent of this, but I'm still convinced this is where the problem lies. When a problem like yours has come up before in the forums, this is usually what needs to change to fix it.

rbachl 06-08-2008 12:52 AM

Thank you for the reply. I did not try this particular path setting before, but unfortunately it does not work either. In the meantime, I have tried the following 5 options in udm-dom.php and udm-style.php:

// Option 1: suggested by udm
//$config = $_SERVER['DOCUMENT_ROOT'] . '/EE2/udm/udm-custom.ini';
// Option 2: absolute path
//$config = '/share/MD0_DATA/Qweb/EE2/udm/udm-custom.ini';
// Option 3: relative path suggested by EE2
//$config = 'udm-custom.ini';
// Option 4: relative to document root suggested in forum
//$config = 'EE2/udm/udm-custom.ini';
// Option 5: relative to EE2
$config = 'udm/udm-custom.ini';

With every test, I have made sure that the browser cache was cleared, but I could not get the udm menu working so far.

vinyl-junkie 06-08-2008 03:18 AM

Move the following bit of code to where it is just underneath the <body> tag:

Code:

<!-- PHP generated menu script [any modules or extensions must come AFTER this] -->
<script type="text/javascript" src="udm/udm-dom.php"></script>

Also, you need these three scripts inside the <head> section of your page:

Code:

<!-- ULTIMATE DROP DOWN MENU Version 4.5 by Brothercake -->
<!-- http://www.udm4.com/ -->
<script type="text/javascript"
        src="udm/udm-custom.js"></script>
<script type="text/javascript"
        src="udm/udm-control.js"></script>
<script type="text/javascript"
        src="udm/udm-style.js"></script>

Make sure those files are on the server as well.

Let us know if this solves your problem.

rbachl 06-08-2008 05:02 PM

Sorry for being a bit ignorant, but I thought that the PHP configuration of udm does not requires the js files? The js files are not mentioned in the PHP configuration http://www.udm4.com/manual/setup/scriptsphp/
and they are not mentioned in the forum describing integration of udm in the Exhibition Engine.

The web pages are dynamically generated by Exhibition Engine. For making the changes you are suggesting, I would need to learn and modify the Exhibition Engine code, which is something I did not plan to do...

If the flaw is with my PHP version not supporting some of the statements in the udm files, maybe I can first provide the PHP configuration (phpinfo) for some crosscheck. If this does not yield a hint about the problem, I could include statements for debugging in the udm code? What do you think?

Unfortunately, I cannot just update or recompile php since this is on a ARM based system where I do not have a toolchain for.
Java is also missing on the webserver.

vinyl-junkie 06-08-2008 10:10 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by rbachl (Post 2723)
Sorry for being a bit ignorant, but I thought that the PHP configuration of udm does not requires the js files? The js files are not mentioned in the PHP configuration http://www.udm4.com/manual/setup/scriptsphp/
and they are not mentioned in the forum describing integration of udm in the Exhibition Engine.

Sorry, you are correct. I don't know what I was thinking when I posted that yesterday. I took a little too quick of a look at the documentation when I posted, I guess. I have a PHP configuration on one of my websites, too, and it doesn't have those files either. Duh! :o

Quote:

The web pages are dynamically generated by Exhibition Engine. For making the changes you are suggesting, I would need to learn and modify the Exhibition Engine code, which is something I did not plan to do...
I copied your page and uploaded it to my own server. When I moved that bit of code I mentioned, it didn't make a difference as I thought it would, so that isn't the problem.

Interestingly, when I use your unordered list with my UDM files, the page works as expected. I still think it's a path issue, but I don't see right offhand just where the problem is.

Quote:

If the flaw is with my PHP version not supporting some of the statements in the udm files, maybe I can first provide the PHP configuration (phpinfo) for some crosscheck. If this does not yield a hint about the problem, I could include statements for debugging in the udm code? What do you think?
Unless you have a really old version of PHP, I don't think that is problem. Just for the record though, what version of PHP are you using?

Could you send me your udm-dom.php file? That way, I can play around with this a little more. You can send it to me through my contact form as an attachment.

rbachl 06-09-2008 05:02 AM

Thank you for taking the efforts and looking into the problem in detail.
The PHP version is 5.2.0, which is not old, but it is compiled for an ARM processor. I am sending a separate email with attachments.

vinyl-junkie 06-10-2008 01:43 AM

Got the files. Thanks!

Can you also send me your udm-style.php file? I got a 404 error because of that when I tried to replicate your page exactly as you have it.

rbachl 06-10-2008 05:19 AM

vinyl-junkie, thanks a lot for looking at this issue in detail. I have sent you the file just now.

vinyl-junkie 06-12-2008 03:13 AM

My apologies for taking so long with this. It was a bear to solve, but I've finally got this to where it works on my server.

First of all, here is the correct value for $config in udm-dom.php:

Code:

$config = $_SERVER['DOCUMENT_ROOT'] . '/EE2/udm/udm-custom.ini';
You should also set the same value in udm-style.php.

Also, there are several incorrect lines of code you need to fix in udm-custom.ini.

For example:

Code:

'solid',        // hover/focus border styles ["solid"|"double"|"dotted"|"dashed"|"groove"|"ridge"|"inset"|"outset"] (single, double
or four values; be careful with using "none")

should be:

Code:

'solid',        // hover/focus border styles ["solid"|"double"|"dotted"|"dashed"|"groove"|"ridge"|"inset"|"outset"] (single, double or four values; be careful with using "none")
I don't know how those got messed up. Are they that way in your original file, or is it because of sending me the files as attachments? I'm not sure what caused this problem. Anyway, there are 6 or 7 lines like that.

I hope I've covered everything. Let us know how it goes, and if you need any more help.

vinyl-junkie 06-12-2008 03:19 AM

1 Attachment(s)
Here is how udm-custom.ini should look. It is saved with a .txt file extension.

rbachl 06-12-2008 06:47 AM

It is working!
 
Wow vinyl-junkie, it is working now. Thank you so much for your great support.

I don't know how the line breaks entered the udm-custom.ini file. The problem was really difficult to see, since I was always under the impression that the line breaks are from the display in the editor rather than being actual line breaks.

Thank you very much!!! I owe you something. How about a dinner invitiation when I am visiting Seattle (not sure if this is still going to happen this year though).
:)

vinyl-junkie 06-12-2008 11:17 AM

Your undying gratitude will be sufficient. :D Seriously though, I had a lot of fun working on this.

Just in case someone else should find a similar problem, here's how I ultimately solved this one. If you look at the following statement in udm-style.php:

Code:

if(ereg('^[-\_\.\/\\a-zA-Z0-9:]+$', $config) && ereg($cmatch, $config)) { @require_once($config); }
notice this part:

Code:

@require_once($config);
That @ symbol in front of the statement is intended to suppress any error messages in PHP. That is a desirable thing in a production environment, but when you're trying to debug your code, you need to remove the @ symbol to see any errors that might be generated. That's what I did, and that's how I noticed there was something wrong with the udm-custom.ini file.

This was a fun problem to solve. The solution was certainly not what I expected. Anyway, I'm glad UDM is now working for you. :)


All times are GMT. The time now is 01:04 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.0.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.