Ultimate Web Site Drop Down Menu Forum

Ultimate Web Site Drop Down Menu Forum (http://www.udm4.com/forum/index.php)
-   Tips, Tricks and FAQs (http://www.udm4.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=6)
-   -   Fixed position menus? (http://www.udm4.com/forum/showthread.php?t=670)

rch 10-17-2007 10:20 PM

Fixed position menus?
 
Is it possible to create fixed position horizontal menus?
I'm trying to get something like that:
http://www.beatles.com/hub/article.php

I can get them horizontal but menus open at random positions.

bcarl314 10-18-2007 06:07 AM

Yes, it is possible to match that menu functionality. I think what your looking for is this demo:

http://www.udm4.com/demos/extension-horizontal.php

rch 10-18-2007 09:43 PM

There is an issue when using horizontal menus with sliding extention. When you move between adjacent navbar items, it slides down second item menu instead of just writing new text in the existing menu box. This looks a bit odd, especially with Firefox you can see a border (though border is disabled) going down over menu box when you have 'allow cross transitions' set to 'yes' in udm-x-sliding.js. I guess sliding extention was designed with vertical menus in mind.

bcarl314 10-22-2007 08:42 PM

I'm not sure I follow. Can you post an example of what you mean? And what you would expect the behaviour to be?

rch 10-26-2007 04:45 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by bcarl314 (Post 990)
I'm not sure I follow. Can you post an example of what you mean? And what you would expect the behaviour to be?


I mean using Sliding Menus together with horizontal menu extention. Please note the sample link to beatles site above. When you move mouse pointer from "the films" to "the sites" it doesn't hide & show again sliding menu below. It just puts new menu links on the same black background. Or to say it another way, it doesn't invoke sliding effect when you move mouse from "the films" to "the sites" (from one navbar item to another) directly. That would be the expected behaviour for me, or configuration option.

bcarl314 10-29-2007 02:12 PM

Ah, I see what you're saying now. I think that's the default behaviour for the menu with that combination. It is possible to create your own custom extension that would only "slide" when there is no replacement, but that is not a feature of the current UDM4 menu.


All times are GMT. The time now is 02:19 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.0.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.