Unread 03-31-2008, 05:38 PM
darrenultra darrenultra is offline
Junior Member
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 6
  #1  
Default UDM4 with PHPBB2 - not working!

Hi,

I have recently tried to install UDM4 with PHPBB2 by following the instructions given on this site. However, I only get a static bullet point menu (dropdown is not working).

My site is arranged as follows:
root_folder(www)>main_website_folder>phpbb2_folder

I have placed my udm-resources folder in:
root_folder(www)>main_website_folder>phpbb2_folder
I have placed udm_phpbb2.class.php in:
root_folder(www)>main_website_folder>phpbb2_folder >includes

I get the impression that the udm_phpbb2.class.php file is not doing it's job. I have a feeling that the following lines of code are not working:
<!-- ULTIMATE DROP DOWN MENU Version 4.42 by Brothercake -->
<!-- http://www.udm4.com/ -->
<script type="text/javascript" src="'.$this->path.'udm-resources/udm-custom.js"></script>
<script type="text/javascript" src="'.$this->path.'udm-resources/udm-control.js"></script>
<script type="text/javascript" src="'.$this->path.'udm-resources/udm-style.php"></script>

Has anyone got any ideas? I would be very grateful!
By the way my website is currently on my local development server (although I wouldn't have thought this would make any difference).
Reply With Quote
Unread 03-31-2008, 06:17 PM
Admin
Posts: n/a
  #2  
Default

Are you getting any error messages in your log files? Or in the browser? First thing I would do would be to check the generated HTML and make sure the paths are correct. Then, if necessary, adjust them.
Reply With Quote
Unread 04-03-2008, 07:35 AM
darrenultra darrenultra is offline
Junior Member
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 6
  #3  
Default

I'm not getting any error messages and the paths to the files all seem correct. What would you suggest next?
Reply With Quote
Unread 04-07-2008, 04:38 PM
Admin
Posts: n/a
  #4  
Default

What version of osCommerce are you using? I know the code on this site was tested on a version 2.2 install.
Reply With Quote
Unread 07-16-2008, 08:18 PM
darrenultra darrenultra is offline
Junior Member
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 6
  #5  
Default

Hi again,

Sorry to have taken so long to reply ...i've been seeing to a different project. I'm now working with phpbb again, but still can't get udm to work. I'm still just getting a static bullet point menu.

I'm using phpbb 2.0.21

This is an example of one of the paths in my source code:
<script type="text/javascript" src="phpbb_folder/udm-resources/udm-custom.js"></script>

I am now developing a commercial project with UDM ...so if you can get this working I will be sending some dollars your way!

I can email you the web address if this would help.
Reply With Quote
Unread 07-17-2008, 10:58 AM
darrenultra darrenultra is offline
Junior Member
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 6
  #6  
Default

By the way I do not have the udm-control.js or udm-custom.js files in my udm resources folder. I'm assuming that the other files in the folder are all that is necessary to get udm to work with phpbb?

The files I have in UDM resources are:
udm-custom.ini
udm-dom.php
udm-mod-keyboard.js
udm-style.php
image files
Reply With Quote
Unread 07-17-2008, 11:12 AM
vinyl-junkie vinyl-junkie is offline
Moderator
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 114
  #7  
Default

You need the udm-custom file on your server. That file is what defines the styles so that your menu does not appear as an unordered list.

It's not clear from your original post as to which version of UDM you're using. I assume it's the PHP version, in which case you need to have udm-custom.php in your udm-resources folder on the server.
__________________
Music Around The World - Collecting tips, trade
and want lists, album reviews, & more
SNAP to it!
Reply With Quote
Unread 07-17-2008, 11:15 PM
darrenultra darrenultra is offline
Junior Member
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 6
  #8  
Default

Yes, I am using the php version of udm, however i do not have a udm-custom.php file in my udm resources folder. Instead I have a udm-custom.ini file, which I think is called into action by the udm-style.php file.

Please correct me if this is wrong and I require a udm-custom.php file!
Reply With Quote
Unread 07-17-2008, 11:42 PM
darrenultra darrenultra is offline
Junior Member
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 6
  #9  
Default

Problem solved!

I was using the php version of UDM (UDM4-PHP), whereas I needed to be using the straight UDM version. I made the assumption that because I was using UDM for a PHPBB forum, then the PHP version was the one to use.

I think the udm_phpbb2.class.php file which we asked to download in the UDM for PHPBB2 tutorial only works for the straight UDM version. I could be wrong - but moving away from the PHP version certainly fixed things for me.

Thanks to everyone who has helped.
Reply With Quote
Unread 10-30-2008, 10:36 AM
HannahGodwin HannahGodwin is offline
Junior Member
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 1
  #10  
Default UDM4 with PHPBB2 - not working

what version are you using????
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 10:23 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.0.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.